Using QuicKeys Shortcuts with ScreenFlow

As you can tell from this site, I’m a QuicKeys nut. I try to automate anything I can with this automation program. One particular application that I have several QuicKeys macros set up for is ScreenFlow—one of the best screencast applications for the Mac.

One of the best things about QuicKeys is that you can use it to add functionality to any application. Sometimes when you work in a application on a regular basis, you start developing a workflow that helps you get projects done in that application faster. Well, QuicKeys can greatly assist you in your workflow.

In the case of ScreenFlow, I primarily use the mouse and menu tools to edit screencast projects. I don’t do a lot of typing in the program, and I‘m not keen on using shortcut keystrokes that are appended to the two dozen-plus menu items that exist in ScreenFlow. So this is where QuicKeys comes in.

With QuicKeys, I have created created several macro shortcuts that activate my most used use menu items in ScreenFlows. I also have macros that perform actions that no single ScreenFlow menu item can do. So here’s a list of QuicKeys actions I‘ve created for ScreenFlow. All of them are put into a QuicKeys shortcut palette that sits right along side the application as I work.

1. I have several actions that simply activate items in the ScreenFlow menu bar.  One action adds a text box, and three others add clip transitions. The action that adds transitions, includes one that adds beginning and ending transitions to a clip. So basically I click one action button and performs two menu items in about a second. The other two buttons add a single starting transition and single ending transition. I never have to take my hands off the mouse to perform these steps.

2. Another really cool action actually creates ScreenFlow markers on a clip. As it’s currently set up, to add a marker, you need to click Markers>Add the ` key. This menu item activates a popup window on the clip where the cliphead is parked in the timeline. In the text field of that little window, are you are required to type a title or label. And lastly, you hit OK on your return key to close the window. Well, with QuicKeys, all these steps are done for me in one click. And since I‘m not particular about the name of each marker, I simply have QuicKeys insert the word, “marker.” After it does the insertion for me, it performs a return key keystroke and then it activates my space bar so that the current clip will start playing again. If I can cared about what the marker titles should be, then I would simply take out that step. So, all this is done one click, in less five seconds.

3. I have another action that resizes the ScreenFlow window I‘m working in. Sometimes I move the window around to get other things done, but when I want to quickly resize and re-position the window on a designated part of my desktop, a click of an action does that for me.

4. Since ScreenFlow doesn’t have a way to option-click on a clip and drag it for copying, I have created copy and paste action specifically for ScreenFlow that does the process for me with two simple clicks of my mouse, without having to take my hands off the mouse.

5. ScreenFlow doesn’t automatically save projects documents, so I have an action that reminds me to do that. That action is triggered by QuicKeys, 15 seconds after it recognizes that a “Untitled” project is the front most window. The action checks for the window, and clicks Command+Save, whereby I‘m invited to save the document.

6. Finally, I have other actions in the palette that open folders and website pages of files that I access in conjunction with ScreenFlow project.

All these actions greatly increase my workflow for completing screencast projects using ScreenFlow. Almost anything that find myself repeatedly doing in the screencast application, I try to turn into a QuicKeys action.

These actions don’t mean that ScreenFlow is deficient as a program. They just show how QuicKeys can enhance the functionality of applications. It simply tries perform the actions we users typically perform when using an application.

Leave a Reply

